Reviews: Take This Regret

Rocki'n

About The Author

A.L. Jackson is the New York Times bestselling author of Take This Regret and Lost to You, as well as other contemporary romance titles, including Pulled, When We Collide, If Forever Comes, Come to Me Quietly, and Come to Me Softly. She first found a love for writing during her days as a young mother and college student. She filled the journals she carried with short stories and poems used as an emotional outlet for the difficulties and joys she found in day-to-day life. Years later, she shared a short story she’d been working on with her two closest friends and, with their encouragement, this story became her first full length novel. A.L. now spends her days writing in Southern Arizona where she lives with her husband and three children.

Take this regret

Sypnosis

There are some mistakes we make that we will regret for the rest of our lives. For Christian Davison, it was the day he betrayed Elizabeth Ayers. For five years, Christian has regretted the day he walked away from his family and will do anything to win them back. Can Elizabeth forgive someone who has committed the unforgiveable? Or are there some wounds that go so deep they can never heal?

Goodreads-Icon

My Rating: 2/5

2 star

What a sad disappointment! I thought I would love Take This Regret. The blurb sounded great and I wanted to read something different ( I read a lot of fantasy).

Take This Regret (Take This Regret, #1)

So let me start with the part I liked:

The First Chapters- I loved the first 5 chapters or so. It had me crying and I was a blubbering mess. I felt the heartbreak Elizabeth went through and the struggle within Christian. It was written so well. The writing style is engaging and I was able to read it in one sitting.

But it went downhill from there:

1)The characters got annoying-

Elizabeth: I sympathized with her. She was strong and I liked her. But she turns weak. I like my MC’s strong. Not perfect, but strong. Here’s an example: When Christian, after 5 years of no contact, appears out of the blue and demands for visitation rights to see Lizzie(their daughter), what does Elizabeth do? She runs to the bathroom (this takes place in her office) and starts crying. She should have given him an earful and kicked him in the balls! I know she is sad, but shouldn’t she be angrier? But what annoyed me most was how easily she lets Christian back into her life.

Christian: Now what bothered me most was how suddenly he becomes Mr. Goody goody pants. He had no contact with Elizabeth for 5 years. He did think about them but never felt the need to contact them. Then he sees Lizzie and suddenly he wants his family back! He wanting to see more of his daughter is okay. But wanting his whole ‘family’ back?  He got on my nerves. A lot.

2) The plot: I felt the plot was feeble and too predictable. Any problems that arose, disappeared conveniently.  It was so easy to guess.

The Writing: The writing was really good. Yes, I hated the characters and the plot. But I kept turning the pages because the style of writing was so engaging. I never felt bored.

I know I’m in the minority here. So many people seem to love it. Guess it was not my cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

