Reviews: Insanity by Cameron Jace

Rocki'n

About The Author

Cameron Jace is bestselling author of the Grimm Diaries and Insanity series. A graduate of the college of Architecture, collector of out-of-print books, and obsessed with the origins of folk tales and the mysterious storytellers who spread them.

Insanity

Sypnosis

Insanity (Mad in Wonderland) (Insanity #1)After accidentally killing everyone in her class, Alice Wonder is now a patient in the Radcliffe Lunatic Asylum. No one doubts her insanity. Only a hookah-smoking professor believes otherwise; that he can prove her sanity by decoding Lewis Carroll’s paintings, photographs, and find Wonderland’s real whereabouts. Professor Caterpillar persuades the asylum that Alice can save lives and catch the wonderland monsters now reincarnated in modern day criminals. In order to do so, Alice leads a double life: an Oxford university student by day, a mad girl in an asylum by night. The line between sanity and insanity thins when she meets Jack Diamond, an arrogant college student who believes that nonsense is an actual science.

Goodreads-Icon

My Rating: 5/5

5 stars

“You’re not alright, the flower says. You’re insane, Alice, insane!” This is hands down the most ridiculous book I have read. It is crazy. And I fell in love with it.
Now, I have my doubts. But the first sentence,
“The girl sprawled on the ground was dead… and loving it. Why else would she be grinning like the Cheshire cat ?”
I knew I was going to love it.


So our MC, Alice lives in an asylum, where                                                            “The walls are smeared with greasy pale green everywhere. I wonder if its the previous patient’s brains splattered all over from shock therapy. “

She doesn’t remember how she ended up there. Her only friend is a tiger lily, her personal rain check for her sanity. And this other patient in the asylum, the notorious murderer Pillar the killer believes the murders happening around the city is the work of a wonderland monster, the Cheshire cat, and that Alice can solve them. What follows is insanity. Literally.

“Sane is mundane. Insanity is the new black.”
Pillar the killer is undoubtedly my favourite character. I love his dialogues. Whenever the plot gets a little sane, he puts the insanity back.
“How have you been Alice ?
Mad. “
Alice wonder is a relatable character. She is not a martyr sacrificing herself to catch some murderer. She is helping because it is her only chance of knowing her past and see the outside world.
I liked how all the characters was an important part of the story and all of them were equally mad.
“ Insanity was a disease that spread to all classes and factions. “
The main theme explored is obviously madness. Whose is mad? Are mad people really mad? Are people not locked up actually sane?

“I think the world outside is even crazier than in here.”
Yeah, I agree. I felt Alice was the sanest of the lot. Even her doctor is borderline crazy. I love that this book made me think all these crazy thoughts.


And the best part is you can feel the craziness oozing out from the pages. The most ridiculous part (coincidently my favourite too) was when I learned why the Cheshire was murdering all these people. I know. I should be horrified. I mean people are being ruthlessly murdered. But I just cracked up at the sheer ridiculousness of it.

I feel many will think that the plot is stupid. But you need to embrace and accept the insanity going on to appreciate the story.Cause it is Crazy with a capital C.

I loved how the original Alice in wonderland characters was embodied in the story and how Lewis Carroll was part of the story. What I like most ,was no unnecessary romance. Usually, whenever a potential love interest is introduced, the MC loses her mind. All she can think about is HIM. And I just sit there, shouting at her to solve the problem. Yes, there is a hint and he only had a few scenes. But I wanted to see more of him. Weird.*shrugs*

I adore insanity .It is mysterious, intriguing and downright hilarious!  You cannot put it down. And it has become one of my favourites. If you haven’t read it, what are you waiting for? You won’t be disappointed.
There are a lot of questions I desperately need answers for. Is Alice, Alice? What is Pillar’s motive? Who is Jack Diamonds? Until these are answered, (in evil voice) Insanity shall prevail!!*evil laugh*

Oh, before I go, here’s a quote I particularly liked,
“There are two ways to live our lives, Alice. One is though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle. I like the ‘everything’ part.”

2 thoughts on “Reviews: Insanity by Cameron Jace

Leave a Reply

