Reviews: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Rocki'n

About The AuthorCynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of the Unearthly series with HarperTeen: UNEARTHLY, HALLOWED, RADIANT (an enovella) and BOUNDLESS. Currently she lives in southern California with her husband and two small children. She teaches courses in creative writing at Pepperdine University.
 photo unearthly_zps5pjxvgxt.png

Sypnosis


Unearthly (Unearthly, #1)In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees…Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy. Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side. As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny? Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.

Goodreads-Icon

3 star

My Rating: 3 stars

Unearthly was a pleasant and nice read. Unfortunately that’s all I can say. I went into this after reading rave reviews of amazing this book is. So I had really high expectations. Now, I wonder if I read the same book. Unearthly wasn’t anything spectacular. But there aren’t many faults with it either. I just wasn’t blown away.

Let me begin with things I liked:

  • I loved Clara. I related with her. The author captured the voice of a sixteen year old perfectly.
  • Clara and her mom had a good relationship. Her mom cared about her. She had a prominent role in Clare’s life. (Parents don’t seem to play much of a role in most YA novels).
  • The writing was really good. I liked Hand’s writing style. It was kind of …………. soothing.( weird, I know)

But for the most part, Unearthly was bland. Nothing really goes on. By the time something did happen, I had lost interest. The first half was spent by Clara mooning over a boy she is supposed to be protecting.

The plot was quite unique. But I wasn’t really dying to know what happens. Also, I didn’t feel 400 pages was necessary to arrive at that ending. The story had this great build up for an amazing ending. But the ending, I was left like….Really? That’s it? It was like someone had deflated a balloon.

description

I waited and waited for this amazing thing to happen, but it didn’t.

Unearthly had so many things I usually fall in love with…but I guess this was not my cup of tea.

 

4 thoughts on “Reviews: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

  1. zainabshykh says:

    This book has actually been on my tbr list for long. Now, I think I should remove it because, after reading your review, it actually looks like a typical fantasy novel.
    And don’t tell me it has a love-triangle?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

