Review: Spiderman Homecoming


Disclaimer : I only became a fan of Marvel (MCU actually) a year ago (hardly a year). I haven’t read the comics (I don’t know where to start). So this review is by an amateur. Please take this with a grain of salt.

” Can’t you just be a friendly neighborhood Spider-Man?”

Homecoming was entertaining. Not a groundbreaking movie but still fun and enjoyable. I was fully engrossed throughout the film.

Let me start by saying how perfect Tom Holland is for the role.

And… I know there were a lot of discussion about Tony Stark’s role in the film. But I assure you it’s a very minimal role. It is still a Spiderman movie.

Now, I don’t know if Homecoming is the greatest Spiderman movie. The one I’ve seen before is The Amazing Spiderman duolgy (the one with Andrew Garfield). Homecoming is so SO much better.

I also liked Homecoming better than The Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol.2 ( which left me a bit disappointed ). Homecoming had a better plot and villain. It was funnier too (at least to me).

 ” I want you to understand… I’ll do anything to protect my family. I know you know what I’m talking about.” 

Speaking of villains, I loved Vulture. The line between right and wrong blurred a bit, which I loved. There were proper motives to why Vulture does what he does.

I loved how different sides of Peter were shown – an eager to please avenger hopeful, a hero who wants to save the world and an awkward high schooler. This was the part I loved most. Homecoming showed how even after fighting superheroes and villians alike , Peter was still a teen (who is just trying his best). I liked how the high school theme wasn’t just background noise. All the supporting characters were actually  central to the story.

” So, to become an Avenger, are there like trials, or an interview?” 

Also Peter Parker was just too adorable.

Design K

Final Thoughts

I wished Aaron Davis ( Donald Glover)  and Michelle (Zendaya) had more screen time.

Unfortunately no MCU film has yet topped Winter Soldier. The action scenes were not amazing like in the Captain America trilogy.

I was also hoping for something, a tidbit that would connect Homecoming to the MCU or maybe to Infinity War.

Anyway, Spiderman Homecoming was a great film. Do check it out. It won’t disappoint.

Have you seen Spiderman Homecoming yet? Leave your thoughts in the comments below!

Signature edit

12 thoughts on “Review: Spiderman Homecoming

  1. I watched it, BUT…. I was kinda disappointed by the short and small fight scenes I was maybe expecting too much from watching the TRAILERS a lot, but I loved the jokes and how Iron Man or actually Tony Stark interacted with Peter Parker in this movie. Another problem was the computer graphics or CGI they used it was a bit sloppy, they missed a lot of small details but overall I give it a 7 out 10. It’s way better than Guardians of the Galaxy I give that a 4 out 10 waste of time honestly.

    Like

  2. Good review! I went to watch it and thoroughly enjoyed it. Still not as good as Spiderman 2, but it’s definitely a close second. Tom Holland really brings the character of Peter Parker and Spiderman to life. He’s the perfect depiction! While I liked Vulture, I felt like his connection to Tony Stark ever so slightly detracted from the overall experience.

    Now, here’s hoping Spiderman meets Daredevil in Infinity War!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG I loved this!! I saw Spiderman Hoco a few days ago AND I FELL IN LOVE!!! I do have to say that he’s my favourite superhero though and I’m literally in love with Tom Holland (not only because he’s the new Spiderman lol) so I might have been a little biased 😝

    I’ve only seen the Andrew Garfield movies as well but Homecoming is my new favourite!! And I love the Winter Soldier movie!!!! I’m so freaking excited for Infinity War too omg 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • I glad you loved it. Black Widow is my favourite superhero. Spiderman is maybe 2nd ( I loved Tom Holland too).
      I’ve seen The Winter Soilder so many times! I’m thinking of seeing Homecoming again ( with my friends this time).
      I’m looking forward to Infinity War so much( April is too far away!). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

