Mini Reviews: The Iron Butterfly

Reviews

Title: The Iron Butterfly

Author: Chanda Hahn

Publisher: Word Circus

About The Book

The Iron Butterfly

Summary from Goodreads:

Imprisoned, starved and left with no memories, Thalia awakens to find herself at the mercy of an evil cult known as the Septori. Their leader has chosen Thalia as the test subject for a torture device of untold power, designed to change and twist her into something that is neither human nor Denai.

Escaping, Thalia finds an unwilling warrior to protect her and an unlikely Denai to befriend her. After finding a home at the Citadel as a servant, Thalia’s worst nightmare comes to life and she begins to show signs of power. Scared and unable to control her gifts, she tries to hide her past to fit in among the Denai. But the Septori want their latest test subject back and will stop at nothing to retrieve her, dead or alive.

My Thoughts

“Down in this hell, silence was more than golden; it was the difference between life and death.”

Chanda Hahn is one of my favourite authors and I adore her ‘An Unfortunate Fairytale’ series. So I was really looking forward to reading The Iron Butterfly, which unfortunately didn’t win my heart.

The Iron Butterfly follows Thalia’s journey after she escapes torture and imprisonment by a mysterious group called the Septori.

I felt the first few chapters were the best part. The world Hahn creates is both new and captivating. I enjoyed Thalia’s journey to the the Citadel, along with Joss and his uncle.

However, it becomes too slow towards the middle and the story didn’t move forward much. It wasn’t all terrible. There were quite a few interesting things happening, but it failed to hold my interest for long. I expected the story to be a bit more dark. I also wanted to see Thalia struggle with the trauma of being tortured and experimented on. But she seemed to fall back to a normal routine quite easily.

Thankfully, the plot picked up towards the end , with the reappearance of kael ( Thalia’s ex-prison mate). Farwaway, the horse ( who talks!) was also a major bonus. Even then, I wasn’t quite satisfied with the plot.

One Thing that bothered me was the similarity between the characters of An Unfortunate Fairytale and The Iron Butterfly.

Thalia was Mina.

Kael was Jared.

Joss was a carbon copy of Brody.

The similarities were just too much! I wasn’t impressed.

The Iron Butterfly was enjoyable, but it lacked in plot, pacing and needed a lot of editing.

My Rating-

3 stars

Do I recommend it?

It is free on kindle, so I would recommend giving this a try if you are curious.

Signature edit

5 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: The Iron Butterfly

Leave a Reply

